top of page

Homemaker of Tomorrow

Sponsor: Betty Crocker, a division of General Mills


Also know as: Betty Crocker All-American Homemaker of Tomorrow

                        Betty Crocker American Homemaker of Tomorrow

                        Betty Crocker Search for the American Homemaker of Tomorrow

                        Betty Crocker All American Family Leader of Tomorrow (1974)

                        General Mills Family Leader of Tomorrow (1976)

                        General Mills Leadership in Family Living (1977)

The Betty Crocker Homemaker of Tomorrow Scholarship Program began with the 1954-1955 school year. Senior high school girls took a written test on homemaking attitudes and knowledge. The girl with the highest score in each school received a pin (or later, charm) and she was entered into the state competition for a scholarship. Each scholarship winner and second runner-up won $1500 (in 1959). Each state winner was entered into the National Competition, with only 1 national winner.


Program: 1955-1977

Contestants: Senior High School Girls 1955-1977
                      Senior High School Boys 1973-1977

According to the history pages of General Mills, 2.1 million dollars in scholarships were awarded.

The National Winner, in 1955, received a special solid gold and diamond set Homemaker of Tomorrow pin, $5,000 educational scholarship and a 6 week, all expenses paid, tour of America.

The State winners, in 1955, received a specially designed jeweled Homemaker of Tomorrow pin and a week-long all expense paid tour of American historical sights with other state winners.



Gold-colored metal award brooch

 three stalks of wheat,

 with heart shaped pendant picturing

 a ranch house and yard in relief.



Made by Trifari



Linda Mathis




Betty Crocker Homemaker of Tomorrow pin,

antiqued finished  with hearth design.

Comes in at least 2 sizes

5/8" x 3/4" is one version

1 1/8" across is the other version

Made by Josten's


By 1972 the award was a

Betty Crocker Homemaker of Tomorrow charm,

Sterling silver with hearth design



1955 National Winner: Deloris Arnette of Enterprise, AL

1956 National Winner: Sandra Mae Walton of San Rafael, CA - televised

1957 National Winner: Priscilla Jones of Blakely, GA - winner was announced on the Jackie Gleason Show

1958 National Winner: Mary Martin of Tylertown, MS

1959 National Winner: Judith Dorrell of Fort Madison, IA

1960 National Winner: Jean Paula Eberhart of Topeka KS

1961 National Winner: Mary Sue Roach of Moncks Corner, SC

1962 National Winner: Nan Clare Fitzpatrick of Arlington, MA

1963 National Winner: Rae Jean Dell of Lincoln, NE

1964 National Winner: Suzanne Moutoux of Evansville, IN

1965 National Winner: Martha Yunker of Sioux Falls, SD

1966 National Winner: Candance Slater of Floral Park, NY

1967 National Winner: Karen Pesaresi of Manhattan, KS

1968 National Winner: Irene Lindley of Honolulu, HI

1969 National Winner: Martha Illige of Arizona

1970 National Winner: Lori Fisler of Los Angeles, CA

1971 National Winner: Susan Tibbetts of Rock Hill, SC

1972 National Winner: Christine Varney of Walpole, MA

1973 National Winner: May Ruiz of New Orleans, LA 

1974 National Winner: Susan Van Wechel of Beaverton, OR

1975 National Winner: Mary Lawlor of Cleveland Heights, OH

1976 National Winner: Daniel J McVicar, Broomfield, CO - first male winner

1977 National Winner: ?

bottom of page